Goofy Traits

013Sometimes my son acts goofy.  Okay, so my 2 year old acts goofy all of the time.  What 2 year old doesn’t?  But sometimes when he’s getting goofy he’ll snicker a certain way, or make a noise, or wring his hands in a way that reminds us of my grandpa.  My wife has said, “That is so something grandpa Kenny would do” when he grins with his shoulders up next to his ears and bouncing with every giggle.  I can see it too and it makes me miss him.

Unfortunately William never met his great-grandpa.  He passed away a few years too early. 01da0991e0e25beb183177e8f160ad43cdf17ff64dLeaving us with only the memories of what a great person he was.  I know if William had met him he would have thought he was a silly, loving man like the rest of us did and I know my grandpa would have tickled him while making his goofy noises just to get him to laugh like he did with all of us even when we were in our mid-30’s.

Even though it’s sad to think about my grandpa being gone, having my son remind me of him with the little things he does when he’s trying to act goofy is something I can cherish.

About jharbottle7

I'm a husband, a father, want-to-be writer, struggling blogger and cyclist. Starting a family has changed my life and made me want to become a better person.
This entry was posted in family, fatherhood and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

