Holiday Weekend

013First things first.  We had planned on successfully potty training our son over the holiday weekend.  He had been showing a growing interest in using the potty and seeing how we had no plans for the weekend we figured why not give it a shot.  Let’s just say I will never eat off our kitchen floor no matter what and I’ll have to get another box of diapers this week.

022That being said, we still had a successful and fun weekend.  Once the potty training hassle was put behind us and everybody was in a better mood, we headed out to our backyard to enjoy the beautiful weather.  The kid had been holed up in the house for two days straight without any sunshine and we figured it was the least we could do to let him run free in the yard for trying to use the potty.

048Bubbles were blown and toys scattered among the yard.  He was in his full glory running around the green grass with his diaper securely wrapped around his little behind.  It was actually nice for all of us, seeing how most of the prior two days had been spent cleaning up after the missed attempts by the boy.

IMG_3024Another fun part of the weekend was me receiving my birthday gift a few days early.  We took a walk this morning down to my favorite bike shop here in the city and purchased a child seat for my bike.  I had been wanting one for some time so I could share the joy of cycling with my son and finally I am able to.  We took it for a short ride once we had gotten home and I was able to finally affix it to my bike, but we’ll be spending so many more rides together over the summer now that I have it.  I’m also sure you’ll see more posts about our excursions together through the city and elsewhere once we have more time to ride.

061We also made sure the boy’s bike was fitted to his needs this weekend because once we were back from our ride together he wanted to do nothing but ride his bike around our apartment.  We’ll soon be taking him out for rides on his bike as well once he has a better sense of balance.

About jharbottle7

I'm a husband, a father, want-to-be writer, struggling blogger and cyclist. Starting a family has changed my life and made me want to become a better person.
This entry was posted in fatherhood and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Holiday Weekend

  1. path4ward says:

    Kitchen floors aren’t really meant to be eaten off of anyway.

Leave a Reply

