Thoughts Of The Week

I didn’t write a post about Father’s Day because I didn’t know what to write.  I had no thoughts on what to bring to the page and figured anything I shared would sound like a thousand other dad bloggers out there trying to share how great their day of recognition was.  I had nothing new to share and believed any idea I came up with was pure crap.  So I stayed away from my blog.  I didn’t look at it all week.  Didn’t figure I needed to seeing how I had nothing to write.  Instead I spent those hours I would have been planted in front of my keyboard typing inspiring and beautiful words with my family, a good book, and my journal.

Did I get anything out of the absence from my blog?  Kind of.  I didn’t feel the pressure of coming up with a post I felt many could read and get something out of.  I didn’t feel obligated in any way to those who do regularly read my blog.  I had a small sense of relief from not spending the time staring at my monitor trying to figure out what to write and how to make sure it was riveting.  I felt so good about the break I thought about slowly fading into the oblivion of blogs forgotten.

But, after some long nights thinking about how else I could spend my time before bed, I decided to keep soldering on one bad sentence after another.  I figured there’s no harm with sharing my struggles of being a father.  There will always be something I screwed up that I can write about so others can laugh at my miscues and when I actually do something right I want to make sure I can put it out there for all to read about.

I guess what I’m trying to get at here with this post is you haven’t gotten rid of me yet. More than likely it will be a long time before I realize I should stop pecking away at this keyboard with the nonsense in my head and let the blogging world leave me behind.

About jharbottle7

I'm a husband, a father, want-to-be writer, struggling blogger and cyclist. Starting a family has changed my life and made me want to become a better person.
This entry was posted in blogging, fatherhood and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

