Defiance

016And so it begins.  The boy has decided it is time to see how far he can go before getting in trouble.  He fights us during clean up and when asked to take care of things, he throws them to floor and yells no.  The simple tasks we’ve asked of him, such as putting his dirty clothes in the hamper, is something he no longer wants to do.  Instead he tosses his dirty clothes into the middle of the floor and says no.

We are embarking on the terrible twos, and although I am enjoying the independence he is trying to show, his behavior is trying my patience.  This push back at us as he tries to understand his limitations is frustrating.  His little smirks of, aren’t I cute, are getting harder to handle and his outbursts when he doesn’t get what he wants is upsetting when we’re out in public and he won’t calm down.

I know this is something all parents go through, but it still doesn’t make it any easier.  And asking other parents how they handled it is like asking a lion tamer how to take care of a goldfish.  No child becomes terrible in their twos the same way.  I just keep telling myself it’s nothing but a phase and soon no will be gone and replaced with why.  So at least I have that to look forward to.

About jharbottle7

I'm a husband, a father, want-to-be writer, struggling blogger and cyclist. Starting a family has changed my life and made me want to become a better person.
This entry was posted in fatherhood, parenthood and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

