A Day For Mom

Cloudy, cool and rainy.  That’s how Mother’s day was.  No playing outside at the park, spending time preparing our garden, or enjoying a sun filled day with laughs.  Just a day spent together mostly in our home.

01823eb452243b4eca2040a530610b7bb12aed6dceIt actually wasn’t bad.  I know I’m making it sound like it was miserable but we had a great day.  The morning started with William reading his favorite book to his mom.  He sat confidently pointing out his favorite trucks on every page and made sure we were paying attention.  He’s a great storyteller and does a great job.

After story time we headed off to one of our favorite spots for brunch.  We sat and chatted while dining on omelets and eggs and before we knew it our plates were scraped clean and our coffee mugs emptied.  We rose from our table, grabbed our coats and headed for the door wondering if the rain would stop and the temperature would rise.

It didn’t.  Instead of heading to the nursery for some flowers and plants, we headed to my wife’s favorite store to peruse the aisles and pick up a few things.  Target is a wonderful store and the only person who got anything other than a necessity was William.  He left with a big smile on his face and a new soccer ball in his hands.

019f02b2ecb287b94efe8b8573d85cab7b0b5430c7But for the evening I had told my wife to choose whatever she wanted for dinner and I would make it, along with desert.  She gave me a new recipe to try so I was a little worried, but I’m going to toot my own horn here and let you know I nailed it.  The dinner was great and the special little desert I made was tasty as well.  Just a little ice cream with brownies, chocolate sauce and Honey Nut Chex sprinkled on top.  It was the perfect ending to a fun day and the two most important people in my life seemed as happy as I felt.

About jharbottle7

I'm a husband, a father, want-to-be writer, struggling blogger and cyclist. Starting a family has changed my life and made me want to become a better person.
This entry was posted in fatherhood, parenthood and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

