A New Old Habit

The big 40 is fast approaching and it’s making me go back to the things I once did.  I’m trying to hold on to my youth and prove to myself, and to others, I can still do the things I once did.  I’m not going out and buying some stupid little car or looking to get myself some young new girlfriend, I’m not that stupid.  I’ve just decided to get back into running to try to hold onto what I once had.

I’ve put many miles on my legs over the last decade.  I’ve ran races ranging from a 5k all the way up to a marathon, but a few years ago I got a knee injury that kept me from running and broke me of my habit.  It was rough.  I had used running as a way to lose over 70 pounds and keep it off, but was suddenly unable to do it anymore without causing pain and discomfort and instead of looking at alternatives, I let my discouragement get the best of me and gave up entirely on keeping in shape.  I did give cycling a go over the last couple years trying to keep the weight gain to a minimum as well as a means for getting back and forth to work, but it wasn’t the same as running.  Thankfully with 4o hitting me this year I’ve decided to give running another go to make sure I can still do it, to lose a little weight, and to try and set a good example for my son about exercising and living a healthy lifestyle.

My wife and I completed or first race of the season this past weekend and it felt great.  The running wasn’t pretty and I didn’t break any speed records, but I did run the whole thing and felt amazing after finishing (plus it was nice having my son along the route cheering us on as we ran by).  It was only a 5k, but it was good to get back into running races like I used to do.  It was satisfying getting back out with like minded people, all with the same goal, and achieving what I had set out to accomplish.  At the end of the race I wasn’t just thankful I finished, I was ready to push myself again, to push past my limits to see what I am capable of and to see how far I can run once again.

We have two more races on our schedule so far, a 10k in about 6 weeks and a half-marathon in September which is my goal race.  I plan on adding a couple more races to my schedule over the course of the summer, nothing major just a 5k here and a 10K there, but they’re goals I am putting out there for myself to achieve and it feels great to have the motivation again that I lost a few years ago.

It’s also a great feeling when I push my son along in the jogging stroller so he can enjoy the training runs with me and see what it takes to live a healthy lifestyle.  To see running isn’t a chore, but a fun activity worth participating in, not only racing but for pure enjoyment and satisfaction.  I want him to see me enjoying the benefits of running and I also want to make sure I’m around for quite some time so I can enjoy a good portion of his life’s achievements.

About jharbottle7

I'm a husband, a father, want-to-be writer, struggling blogger and cyclist. Starting a family has changed my life and made me want to become a better person.
This entry was posted in fatherhood, running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

