Teaching Confidence

How do you teach confidence?  How do you make sure your child has the confidence they need without making them think they’re special?  How can you help your child believe in themselves when others don’t?

DSC_0636These are the things I’m starting to think about because I don’t know how to do this.  I’ve struggled with confidence most of my life.  My lack of confidence is why it took me so many years to complete college, the reason I still haven’t completed a rough draft of the book I’ve been working on for years and why I’m stuck at a dead end job with no real leads for a better one.  So how am I supposed to help my son be confident in himself if I have no experience?

This is where I lean on my wife.  One of the things that attracted me to her was the confidence she had and still does.  She’s a strong woman who is assertive, unafraid to speak her mind, and someone who will stand up for what she believes in.  This is one of the many reasons I hope my son takes after her more than me.

So maybe the best way I can teach my son confidence is by teaching him how to see his mom as a great example and strong women are nothing to be afraid of.

About jharbottle7

I'm a husband, a father, want-to-be writer, struggling blogger and cyclist. Starting a family has changed my life and made me want to become a better person.
This entry was posted in fatherhood and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

