Starting Over (Time To Use My Real Writing Voice)

010-1Something I’ve realized over the last couple weeks, actually probably ever since I started this blog, is I’m not completely real with you readers.  I bumble on in about being a dad and the struggles I have and how I’m not the best husband when it comes to being there all the time.  But the part where I’m not being real with you is the voice I use when writing my posts.

The things I share are real and the feelings I have are nothing short of sincere, but they come off stiff and almost scripted.  There isn’t any feeling in the way the stories flow or how I truly feel.  I sound like a father from a 50s t.v. show trying to make sure my son does right every time he leaves our house rather than the person I really am.

I’m sarcastic, I’m pessimistic and I don’t always like everything I see in the world.  I’m rarely completely happy with the way my life is going and often struggle to find the happiness within the day.  I do find joy being home with my family and spending time playing with my son, but until the end of my work day I struggle to enjoy what is happening around me.

007-1This being said and shared, I would like to try and turn over a new leaf and begin sharing my true voice, making sure my feelings don’t sound like they’ve been written by somebody trying to be happy and witty.  Because let’s be honest, I’m not the happiest or the wittiest person and really struggle trying to come off that way.

So here it goes.  It’s a new day and I’m going to share in my sarcastic, pessimistic ways and hope not to offend you or drive you all away.

About jharbottle7

I'm a husband, a father, want-to-be writer, struggling blogger and cyclist. Starting a family has changed my life and made me want to become a better person.
This entry was posted in fatherhood, parenthood, writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

