Mine

IMG_0098_2Arms raised high above his head and whines echoing in the room.  He tries to convince us that everything is his.  From the keys I’m carrying to the pots of hot food coming off the stove. If he thinks he wants it, it has to be his.  If either my wife or I are carrying anything he thinks might be fun he’s reaching and trying to make us believe he needs it.  The chair I’m sitting in, the toy our dog is chewing on and even a piece of food already half eaten needs to be his.

It became a bit of a habit when making my morning toast to give a small edge of the heel to our dog.  She’d sit and wait patiently for me to tear off a corner and toss it her way.  Now with my son needing anything and everything, he is requesting the same.  He’ll stand next to her waiting for a piece of heel and whines until I hand it to him.  Then he strolls around the kitchen enjoying a treat once only for the dog.

002This notion of “mine” he is settling into right now is frustrating and I’m the worst when it comes to giving in.  I try not to.  I try to make him use his words to ask for what he wants and not giving in if he is whining, but as my wife let’s me know every time I give in, I’m having a hard time with it.

Eventually this will end and he’ll have the words to let us know what he wants and will learn what he can and can’t have and that not everything is his.  Until then I’m just going to have to learn how to stay strong while his whining bounces off the walls and fills my ears with unpleasantness.

About jharbottle7

I'm a husband, a father, want-to-be writer, struggling blogger and cyclist. Starting a family has changed my life and made me want to become a better person.
This entry was posted in fatherhood, parenthood and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mine

  1. daddydonnell says:

    I totally understand. I think my dogs are starting to resent my son for all the pizza crust he gets that used to belong to them.

Leave a Reply

