She Won’t Let Me Forget

015It was an early morning like so many we’ve had over the last couple of months.  Our son woke up early.  It’s the usual 3 or 4 in the morning, neither of us are going to get up and try to soothe him back to sleep, so we bring him into our bed to try to get as much sleep as possible before our alarms start chirping.  I spent the last couple of hours trying to sleep but kept getting slapped in the face and kicked.  He tossed and turned and  before I knew it the alarms were going off and it was time to get up.  But of course he had gone back to sleep so instead of waking him up my wife told me to stay in bed with him and she’d get in the shower first.  She laid a pillow along here side of the bed to keep him from rolling off and stepped out of the room.

The fear leaped through my chest.  A loud crash echoed in our apartment and shook me awake.  I searched the dark room, reaching for my son when I heard the screams.  My wife scrambled back to our room, flipping on the light and frantically asking what happened.  I leaned over her side of the bed and saw my son in a heap on the floor, mouth wide open with cries and tears falling off his cheeks.

016I pulled him back onto the bed and held him close.  He continued to scream.  My wife came and sat next to us.  Her hands stroked his head, searched his body for any bumps or breaks, and caressed his wet cheeks.  He pulled himself towards her, she took him into her arms and he buried his head into her chest.  I was scared, he was too.  I was worried I had broken my son.

Twenty minutes passed and he was up running around our apartment.  A little whiny and more cuddly than usual, but seeming to be okay.  We checked once more for any bumps or bruises but didn’t find anything.  He seemed to be alright, but stayed close to his mom.  Not really wanting me to help him get ready.

We finished our morning routine and headed out the back door.  As I helped my son into his car seat I leaned in said I loved you and asked for a goodbye kiss.  He didn’t even turn to look at me.  He kept his face straight forward, looking out the front window not acknowledging I was even there.  I pecked his cheek, told him I loved him one more time and closed the door.  I waved as they backed out of the garage and hoped when he came home he would at least give me a hug.

About jharbottle7

I'm a husband, a father, want-to-be writer, struggling blogger and cyclist. Starting a family has changed my life and made me want to become a better person.
This entry was posted in fatherhood, Parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to She Won’t Let Me Forget

  1. notjustdaddy says:

    Things like that happen from time to time. Not too long ago, one of our boys rolled out of his bed (we have three, ages 6,4,4) – he was crying, and my wife went in to check on him, put him back to bed, etc. The next morning, we found some blood on the carpet and freaked out (he had hit his head near the side of the dresser when he rolled out, evidently more awkward than we had originally thought. Not exactly a proud parenting moment for us.

    Anyhow, best of luck and keep on keeping on 🙂

    • jharbottle7 says:

      Thanks. I know there’ll be more tumbles coming along, but it still doesn’t make it easy. Although if I just think back to all the falls, cuts and bruises I had growing up it would probably help seeing how I did survive.

Leave a Reply

