Never Stops

airplaneHis energy level is that of a rabbit on caffeine.  He doesn’t walk, he runs.  Circles around the coffee table, races back and forth from kitchen to living room, and torments the dog. He doesn’t stop.  Go, go go.

I can’t even think about trying to keep up.  I grow tired after ten minutes of just watching him run.  My wife and I take turns chasing him through the house making sure he doesn’t get into things he shouldn’t.  Tagging the other one in when we’ve ran out of steam.

wheres the trainI’m learning now what my mother must have felt like when I was my son’s age.  From the stories my family have told me I never stopped moving.  This is why I know my mother is laughing with every post I put on the internet about how my son is full of energy.  She knows the tiredness is a struggle but the joy of watching your son play with a smile on his face is worth the suffering.

Our favorite time of day is my son’s bedtime.

About jharbottle7

I'm a husband, a father, want-to-be writer, struggling blogger and cyclist. Starting a family has changed my life and made me want to become a better person.
This entry was posted in fatherhood, parenthood and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

