Trail of Toys

008My son is full of energy and now I know why my mother laughed when I said he seems to only want to run when he figured out how to stand on his two legs.  It’s payback for the never ending energy I had when I was his age.  I can’t keep up half the time and luckily I never lose him in our house because he leaves a trail of debris in his wake.

011The other day I walked in the back door after taking the dog out and traced the path my son took from the kitchen, through the dining room, around his bedroom and out into the living room by following the toys, boots and dog collar he left behind.

010It’s as if he’s afraid he’ll end up lost and the only way he can find his way back to his bedroom full of toys is by dragging half of them out into the rest of the house and scattering them in every nook and cranny.

I don’t know how many times I’ve tripped over one of his trains or kicked a beer koozie across the room. (Yes, my son has found the kitchen drawer with the beer koozies and loves stacking them up)

007Just today it took all 3 of us fifteen minutes to search the whole place for all the toys he’d pulled out.  Tucked under desks and the couch, scattered across the coffee table and sitting in the bathtub.  It’s never ending and I keep finding toys I never knew he had.  I’m glad he doesn’t have the dreaded foot biter legos yet, but I know it’s just a matter of time before I’m stepping on those and cutting my feet.

About jharbottle7

I'm a husband, a father, want-to-be writer, struggling blogger and cyclist. Starting a family has changed my life and made me want to become a better person.
This entry was posted in fatherhood, fatherhood parenthood and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

