The Small Things

I know I’ve mentioned this many times in past posts, but it’s the one constant I have with my son.  The small things we share throughout our days is what I enjoy more than anything else.

Today we had one of those moments.  I was talking to him as he finished up breakfast and was saying something about the number 3 and held up three fingers.  He looked at me, studied for a moment and held up his hand with all four fingers and thumb high in the air. He noticed his hand didn’t look the same and tried to figure out why.  He studied my hand, looked back at his, looked back up at mine, then tried to get his hand to look the same.  He couldn’t, but kept trying until he was ready to take another bite.

This was nothing more or less, it just was.  A moment I can look back on when I noticed my son trying to understand the world around him in some small way.

About jharbottle7

I'm a husband, a father, want-to-be writer, struggling blogger and cyclist. Starting a family has changed my life and made me want to become a better person.
This entry was posted in fatherhood and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

