Sleep Regression

001-1I don’t know if this is a thing, but our son has decided he no longer likes going to bed on time or to his own bed.  My wife has mentioned she had heard children may begin to regress in their sleep patterns around the age of 18 months, but had hoped we wouldn’t have to experience such.

Our precious little boy has always been a great sleeper.  Since the day we brought him home he slept on schedule and almost always through the night.  My wife and I knew we were one of the lucky ones when it came to getting a good nights sleep and never complained when he’d have a bad night now and then.  But lately it has been rough.

Pretty much every night for the last couple weeks we’ve been having to cuddle him until he falls asleep.  Then, if we’re lucky, we can carefully take him back to his bed where he’ll sleep the rest of the night, but it isn’t a restful sleep.  There’s also been a few nights where we’ve completely given up and let the kid sleep all night in our bed just so we could at least get some rest for the next work day.

I’ve also noticed he’s awakened from sleep because of a bad dream.  This did happen right as the sleep regression started and made me think he might not like sleeping because of it. Said dream seemed to have spooked him quite a bit because of how he spent the rest of the night jumping when seeing shadows and wanting only to stay in our arms.  I felt bad for the guy as he kept his head on a swivel checking different noises he heard or shadows, but could only tell him it would be okay.  I still wonder if the bad dreams started this whole sleep issue, but my wife assures me it’s because he’s going through some separation anxiety not the bad dreams.  Either way I feel bad for the little guy.

I’m sure this is just a stage and he’ll eventually outgrow it, but it’s rough when he’s fighting going to bed every night yet is ready to get up the next morning at his usual time of 5:30.  No matter what, I’m not ready for the day to start and I am definitely not ready to start dealing with a 1 and a half old after a rough night.

I’m mostly just writing this to get it off my chest so I can try to move on.  I’m also not able to sleep anyways right now so why not write about why I can’t sleep.

 

About jharbottle7

I'm a husband, a father, want-to-be writer, struggling blogger and cyclist. Starting a family has changed my life and made me want to become a better person.
This entry was posted in family, fatherhood, son and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

