A Week To Forget

Last week we spent a quick but fun weekend visiting family back in Michigan.  Saw grandparents, aunts and uncles, and cousins who we hadn’t seen for quite some time and enjoyed some time away from the city.  And after the week we had once we left Michigan I wished we would have spent more time there.

It all started once we got into Indiana and onto the toll road.  Travelling just fine for many miles, when something bounced along the bottom of the car and put slow leak in our back tire.  Thankfully we were able to make it to a rest stop before having to stop to fix it.  What I found was a bolt roughly 3 inches long lodged in our rear bumper that I’m pretty sure did the damage.  I’ve shared an image of said bolt off to the right.  This added roughly another two and a half hours to our drive making our son cranky by the time we were back home (along with the rest of us in the car).

The thing is, this isn’t where our story ends.  You see, earlier that morning my brother had sent a text to us, before we left my parent’s, letting us know all of his children had been vomiting that morning.  None of us thought much of this as we ate our breakfast and soon had forgotten he let us know.  By 11 pm that night I was spending more time in the bathroom than in my bed, realizing we should have headed my brother’s warning and thus began the worst part of our week.

Let’s skip most of the disgusting details and just get to the part where by 2 pm Monday we were all piled in our bed trying to nap and having child vomit not once, but twice in our bed.  So there we were dealing with a stomach virus of some sort and having to make our bed twice and doing laundry.  It was miserable.

Thankfully the boy bounced right back and by Tuesday morning was only dealing with a running nose and slight cough, meanwhile I still hadn’t really eaten anything since Sunday night and wasn’t sure I could.  The wife kept pushing through during all of the this and luckily never got to the point of vomiting, but never felt great either.  Again, this was the worst week we’d had as a family.

I don’t know if any of you have ever had the pleasure of trying to take care of a sick child when both your wife and yourself are sick, but it is not something I would recommend.  Sesame street was a great entertainer as one of us took a shift on the couch to watch our son while the other did the best they could to get a quick nap in the bed.  Trying to chase the boy around the house to make sure he didn’t pull every book out of the bookcase or every DVD out of the entertainment center didn’t happen and after two days of being sick our place looked like a hurricane had swept through.  I can’t say it enough, this past week was one of the worst I’ve been part of.

Finally we’ve gotten ourselves back to somewhat of a normal.  Me and the boy are still fighting a cold, but at least we can eat.  My wife, being the trooper she is, was back up and running by Wednesday dealing with student’s parents all day at conferences.  Me on the other hand, I took another day off to get more sleep while the boy spent his day at daycare.

Now that I’ve written this post I can feel I can finally wash myself of the germs from last week that seemed to have stayed longer than they were welcomed.  Also, sorry for not having any pictures to share, but you wouldn’t have wanted to see anything from our place. I know there’ll be many more sick days and weeks, but I’m hoping to never have to deal with another week like we just had to deal with.  I’m also hoping that with getting hit with this early we won’t be dealing with it throughout the winter season.

About jharbottle7

I'm a husband, a father, want-to-be writer, struggling blogger and cyclist. Starting a family has changed my life and made me want to become a better person.
This entry was posted in family, fatherhood, son, travelling and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

