Summer Is Ending

DSC_0100Routines are changing and summer days are coming to an end.  Our lives are getting busy again as my wife heads back to the classroom and my son heads off to daycare.  This is especially tough on my wife after having the joy of spending all summer home with the boy while children were enjoying a break from school.

DSC_0079Our time as a family is shortened by the hustling mornings getting ready for work and the few hours we have for dinner, bath and playtime before heading off to bed.  The time flies by so quickly that sometimes I feel like I don’t get to see my family hardly at all.  Often feeling as though the days are a blur and my is son growing faster than I can keep up.

Just in the past week he’s slowly gaining confidence in his walking abilities and is now starting to take steps in between furniture.  He’s also finding it fun to climb up on everything.  Before long he’ll be running through our apartment and driving us crazy.

033-1However, for the unofficial last day of summer, we made our way downtown to cheer on my wife as she ran the Magnificent Mile Chicago Women’s Half Marathon.  William and I enjoyed the train ride through the north side neighborhoods, a stroll through Grant Park, checking on Buckingham Fountain and cheering on all the runners as they went by.

035-1If this is the last weekend we get to do fun things with few errands and chores, it was well spent.  Hopefully though we won’t be having too many errands so maybe we can get back to the zoo and to the park a few more times before the cold autumn days set in.

 

About jharbottle7

I'm a husband, a father, want-to-be writer, struggling blogger and cyclist. Starting a family has changed my life and made me want to become a better person.
This entry was posted in family, fatherhood, son and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

