Teaching My Son

One thing I’ve begun to love doing for my family since my son was born is cook.  I love the feeling I get when putting together ingredients to create a meal we can all enjoy and how the final result of my work makes me feel like I’ve accomplished something.  I enjoy putting together new recipes as I expand my cooking skills and learning patience with every new experiment.

01ed07db8625055bdeb4612ab477e16ee8c61bbc09The patience is the biggest thing though I feel I am gaining by cooking for my family.  My wife will agree with me saying patience has never been a strength of mine.  Early on in my cooking days I mostly baked.  I use to watch my dad make his wonderful chocolate cookies and wanted to do the same.  I quickly realized I wasn’t that good.  I’d rush through the recipe and wonder why things wouldn’t turn out.  I’d fumble through the directions and pour things in before the dish was ready or turn the heat up on the stove thinking hotter meant faster.  I grew angry whenever I tried to cook because it always looked easy on tv but I couldn’t figure out how to fry an egg without ruining it.  I grew horribly frustrated and almost decided take-out was in our family’s future.

I don’t know how or why I started realizing my blunders were caused by my impatience, but something clicked one day as I was making a simple dish on the grill.  I slowed down, made sure to have all my ingredients ready before starting and eased into the dish.  It was grilled hamburgers and asparagus so when I say simple I mean it, but for some reason when the food came off the grill and onto our plates I learned something that has forever changed how I work in the kitchen.  Now I’m constantly planning out our weekly meals and becoming more extravagant in what I’m making, especially when we have guests. (I like to show off.)

002This is where my teaching comes in.  Foremost I want my son to learn patience.  In a time of instant gratification patience has become a lost art.  Gone are the days of running to the library so you could look something up for a school report, or reading the daily newspaper for your favorite sport scores.  Now all you have to do is flick your finger across the phone’s screen and you can access almost anything.  I feel this is another reason I like to cook.  It is something I can do where I shut everything down except my music and put all my attention into create something.

I want to share the kitchen with my son.  I want to teach him how to cook so he can enjoy things other than mac-n-cheese from a box or ramen noodles heated in a microwave when he’s on his own.  But the biggest thing I want to teach him is patience.  Something I never thought I could teach my son before I began cooking and something I know will help him as he grows up in the ever fast changing world we live in.

 

 

About jharbottle7

I'm a husband, a father, want-to-be writer, struggling blogger and cyclist. Starting a family has changed my life and made me want to become a better person.
This entry was posted in family, fatherhood, son and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Teaching My Son

  1. In today’s instant gratification world it is difficult to reach our children patience. Just the other day my son had a complete meltdown because he couldn’t watch a show on Netflix because the internet was down. Patience and the understanding that you don’t always get what you want is something I want to instill in my son.

  2. Christian Thomas Golden says:

    Thank you for sharing your experiences! I am a soon to be first-time father. I look forward to reading about more of your experiences. Blog on!

    • jharbottle7 says:

      Thanks for the encouragement and follow. And congratulations on fatherhood. It is an amazing experience that can be sometimes stressful but always satisfying.

Leave a Reply

