Too Many Distractions

003Distractions have become the norm in every day life.  We can no longer go more than 5 minutes without checking our phones for some type of update.  We can’t sit longer than 15 minutes and focus on one project before needing a break or distraction.  We can’t even go to a sporting event without being entertained by something other than the sport we paid to watch.  What have we done to ourselves? We can’t even relax without being distracted?

The nuisance of distractions has been bugging me for a while now.  I’ve been working hard to limit distractions in my daily life and have been looking at how I can keep those distractions from my son so he can learn how to focus.  I’m worried if I don’t teach him when he’s learning playing habits and how to do things on his own that I’ll miss my opportunity to keep him focused.

IMG_2152One thing my wife and I planned on doing from the beginning is limiting his toys because too many choices can lead to anxiety and focusing issues.  For us, our son does not need every toy in the Toy-R-Us catalog to be happy.  I can confidently say this because he has just as much fun with his empty diaper box as he does with his trucks.

I also want to limit his screen time.  In my experience, the less I watch t.v. or spend on the computer the better and more creative I feel and I want to help my son develop healthy habits when it comes to how he spends free time.  If I must use a TV to entertain my son then I’m failing him as a father.  I know technology is becoming a bigger part in people’s lives when it comes to educating their children, but I don’t feel I need to give him my tablet or phone to entertain him when out at a restaurant.  He can read a book, play with a small toy, or color.

Maybe I’m old fashioned in thinking I can keep my son from becoming too distracted in his life, but I want to try my best to make things easier on him as he gets older and I feel teaching him how to focus and complete something without trying to do too many things at once is the best thing I can do for him.

 

 

About jharbottle7

I'm a husband, a father, want-to-be writer, struggling blogger and cyclist. Starting a family has changed my life and made me want to become a better person.
This entry was posted in fatherhood, son and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Too Many Distractions

  1. I’ve heard that screen time before the age of 3 can be harmful developmentally. I totally agree, We’re about to have our first, and I feel the same way about distractions. I want to give my kid a fighting chance at “normal” behavior and I think going old fashioned with wooden blocks, coloring, or an empty cardboard box is the way to go. Tech is an adult craze, until we know long term effects, keep it away from kids. One day I want to say, Go out side and play! and not have my kid stand in the backyard tweeting about poor wifi signal while googling “how to build snowman” – AT

    • jharbottle7 says:

      I agree. Tech has taken a hold of me strongly and I try every day to back away from it for a bit to just relax. I want my son to learn good habits when it comes to using tech as well and if I don’t lead by example he won’t learn.

  2. Gone are the days of kids running doen

    • Gone are the days of kids running down the block and their parents telling them to be home when it is dark. Tech has changed our lives and will continue to change our lives. The way that I look at is when I was growing up I remember my dad saying “when I was your age” and it was a completely different lifestyle than the age that I was growing up in. So naturally my son will have a different lifestyle that he will grow up in. It’s all about adapting to it.

      • jharbottle7 says:

        I think the adapting is the toughest part about parenting. When you become a parent you hope the experiences you had as a child will help you but then quickly realize what your child is going through is a completely different experience than what you had.
        Tech has done some great things for our lives and I know it’s not going away. As a father I need to realize this and understand the only thing I can do is try to help him make the best choices.

Leave a Reply

