A Day At The Zoo

Zoo Life 036-1I am beginning to realize how much fun we are going to have visiting the Lincoln Park Zoo this summer.  This past weekend we went on our second trip to the zoo to meet with my friend’s family who drove in for the day from Michigan and we had a great time.  Mostly the fun was due to catching up with our friends, but some was due to how the kids were enjoying the animals.

Zoo Life 041-2On my family’s first trip to the zoo back on Easter William didn’t pay much attention to the animals.  He was more focused on the water features keeping us separated from the animals and the people walking by.  On our trip this past weekend he was noticing the animals, calling out to them, and getting excited when they would come up close to the partitions.  A couple times I think there was a bit of fear in his reactions.

Zoo Life 078It was interesting when in the lion house how William watched some of the big cats pacing back and forth in their habitats.  I wondered if he was thinking how much they looked like our cat just bigger or if he was scared to see an animal that big.

In the monkey house he would get excited and start flailing his arms when the monkeys chased each other around and swung from the branches.  He’d yell at them trying to get their attention, clap with excitement and wave to them when they came up close.

Zoo Life 074After watching my son’s reactions to being at the zoo yesterday and how he seems to love exploring our city it made me realize how much I need to take him out into our neighborhood and the surrounding neighborhoods to experience the world around us.  I see many walks happening this summer and many trips back to the zoo.  I am hoping for a summer of exploration that will open our eyes to great things around us and the learning we will do.

 

About jharbottle7

I'm a husband, a father, want-to-be writer, struggling blogger and cyclist. Starting a family has changed my life and made me want to become a better person.
This entry was posted in family, fatherhood and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Day At The Zoo

  1. Looks like fun! I can’t wait to be a Dad.

Leave a Reply

