Weekend Fun

This past weekend I learned you don’t take a trip to Michigan with something to do every day while you’re there and expect to get any rest.  Even making it a long weekend by taking Friday off to get there early, you should expect to feel miserable come Monday morning and this is exactly how I felt when I woke up this morning.

DSC_0069The first event I’ll share is our birthday celebration for William with family and friends.  Sure his birthday was earlier in the week, but seeing how none of the invitees live near Chicago we decided to bring the birthday boy to them.

DSC_0105It was fun.  Tiring, but fun.  William was a trooper.  Becoming frustrated only when the wipes came out to clean up his face, hands, shirt, shorts and head after he was done with his cake.  He loved opening the gifts, well actually he loved the paper the gifts were wrapped in, but at least there was enjoyment for him.  Of course with it being his first birthday we was spoiled with too many gifts which made the car ride home cramped, but now we can take some of the old toys and replace them with the new.

DSC_0160Overall William did great, not getting upset being held by loved ones other than mom and not getting tired seeing how he hasn’t been napping well lately.  The only issue came after the party once we were back at my in-laws trying to put him down for the night.  The sugar kicked in from the cake and he didn’t seem to want to go to bed.

DSC_0173Not wanting to go to bed was rough for me.  You see, I had already biked 75 miles that morning for the Bike MS Ride and was needing to get up the following morning to do another 75 miles to complete the two-day charity ride.  This was one of the other things we packed into our Michigan trip.

William wearing the medal I received for completing the two day ride.

William wearing the medal I received for completing the two day ride.

My father-in-law has been battling MS for the past 15 years and I decided to do what I love to do (cycling) and try to raise money to help find a cure.  When I saw the event was going to be the weekend after William’s birthday I figured it would be a great time to do both the ride and have a party for William.  I will be doing things differently next year.

Anyways.  For the ride portion of my weekend, the first day ended up going great.  I had never ridden further than 50 miles so I was a little nervous about taking on such a big ride.  I had been training for a while, but wasn’t having great training rides leading up to the weekend.  It was a perfect day and once I got into the ride it felt great.  Sure there were moments when I struggled, but after a quick-lunch break I felt rejuvenated and ended up finishing almost an hour before the time I had been aiming for.

Then came day two.  I woke up not feeling refreshed.  I got to sleep almost on time thanks to my wife handling William and his sugar buzz, but I still didn’t get great sleep.  I slowly got ready while it rained outside hoping the rain would at least stop before I started.  It didn’t.  It was rough from the first pedal stroke and to make a long ride short, I decided to cut my 75 miles down to 50.  I’m glad I did because it was a struggle to get that much done, but I’m a little disappointed I wasn’t able to reach my goal distance.  There will be a next year.

To make this past weekend even crazier, my wife had decided that since we were in town she would run a 5k in our old neighborhood.  So Saturday morning as I headed off for my ride she, along with my mother-in-law and William, headed to East Grand Rapids for her race.  This was her first race since getting pregnant with William so the only expectation was to finish.  That she did.  It took some time for her to get back into the groove of things, but she was able to finish and that’s what matters.  William was there to watch and as she and many others ran by he clapped along with the other spectators.

So if you are thinking that filling a weekend with things for the whole family will be fun, please take it from me and rethink the idea.  Because too many things in a weekend only makes the work week that much worse.

 

 

About jharbottle7

I'm a husband, a father, want-to-be writer, struggling blogger and cyclist. Starting a family has changed my life and made me want to become a better person.
This entry was posted in Cycling, family, fatherhood, traveling and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

