Conversations With My Son

DSC_0002The other evening as we sat around the dinner table I watched my son study how my wife was eating.  He was watching intently as she would take a bite and chew.  Often he would mimic her chewing motion as he stared.

He soon realized I had been watching and as DSC_0003if on cue, started chatting and acting goofy.  Within the last few weeks he has seemed to find a personality that is fun and happy.  He smiles constantly and laughs at the silliest things.

DSC_0012He’s started dancing when he hears music, which  in our house is every night as I’m making dinner.  He sings, yells at the dog and studies what we’re doing.  When he plays in his room he is always talking to either himself, me or my wife, or some imaginary friend who seems to be crawling around with him.

DSC_0004I look forward to the times we will have to sit and have conversations about whatever is on his mind.  Be it silly, serious, goofy, about sports, girls, life or any of the above will be fine with me.  I just look forward to the conversations I’ll have with my son and what we’ll learn from each other.

 

 

DSC_0005

About jharbottle7

I'm a husband, a father, want-to-be writer, struggling blogger and cyclist. Starting a family has changed my life and made me want to become a better person.
This entry was posted in fatherhood, son and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

