Where Has The Time Gone

DSC_0019It was just a short 11 months ago my son was born.  One more month and the little guy will be a year old.  I’m proud of me and my wife’s ability to keep him alive, let alone keep him healthy.

I can’t say I’ve kept him bruise free, but he hasn’t had to be taken to the doctor or emergency room for something I’ve done or not done.  For the most part the kid is growing as he should.  And as for the IMG_2237aforementioned bruising?  Well he’s starting to work on pulling himself up to a standing position and well, the hardwood floors aren’t the most forgiving.  It was awkward the other morning as my wife was feeding him and noticed the bruise in the middle of his forehead.  When she asked what happened I tried to act like I didn’t see anything, but when she persisted I let her know about the incident from two nights prior while she was in her grad class.

So what happened was, he was pulling himself up on his car and I was trying to take some photos to show my wife because this new trick was still new to us so I wanted to document what was happening.  My wife hadn’t witnessed him doing it on his own so I was trying to do her a favor.  Well, after I snapped the photo and went to put the camera down I turned just in time to see him going face first over the side of the car onto the floor.  I tried not to rush over and scare him because I could tell he was going to be alright, but the fall did scare him and he began crying.

IMG_2231Long story short, after ten minutes of me cradling him and soothing him, he was back on the floor playing and trying to pull himself up on the coffee table.  So I think this is the beginning of a worrisome part of being a parent.  Knowing he’ll take some tumbles, but understanding bruises will fade, but the experience in falling will begin teaching him of his boundaries and that is more important.

As for the time slipping by, well I don’t think there’s anything we can do to slow it down.  It’s forever ticking away and we’re forever getting older, but the time spent together is the only time that matters.  This is why I strive to work on my writing to be able to work from home some day to be able to spend more time with my son and wife and why I plan to spend many days of vacation traveling with my son in tow experiencing what we can together before he’s too old to enjoy what we have.

About jharbottle7

I'm a husband, a father, want-to-be writer, struggling blogger and cyclist. Starting a family has changed my life and made me want to become a better person.
This entry was posted in family, fatherhood, son, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

