Transitions & New Habits

DSC_0006Like the weather that has come along with Spring, changes and new beginnings have began around our home.  Our son, who has become a speedy little crawler, is now figuring out how to pull himself up onto his knees in order to get things above his head. He also began pulling himself up after waking from naps in his crib prompting my wife to have me lower the mattress.  She fears he’ll tumble out onto his head.  I see that as a great learning experience, she sees it as a danger.  Our parenting styles still differ at this point and we’re trying to figure that out sooner than later.

photo 3So on Saturday afternoon I grabbed my tools and began unscrewing the bolts on Williams crib.  My wife sat in the room playing with William and mentioned multiple times she wasn’t happy our little boy was growing so fast.  Neither of us like the fact he is no longer the little baby we brought home or the dependent little guy always needing our help to play. He’s becoming independent quickly and it’s tough, yet it’s fun to watch him learn new things and figure out how to do something on his own like feeding himself finger foods (or giving them to the dog).

I know these changes are inevitable and my little boy will continue to grow and need me less and less.  I’m just not liking how fast it is happening.  But this growing on my son’s part is also making me adjust at what I do around him and how I can teach him life’s tools.  While my son is growing so am I and I want to take in what he is teaching me about myself to become a better father, husband and man.

DSC_0022This brings me to the changes I’m making to ensure I’m around for a long time.  Over the weekend I started a garden.  Now this only consists of a few pots on my back porch seeing how we live on the top floor of a three flat, but it’s something.  I’ve also taken it upon myself to cook every night for the family.  William isn’t eating what me and my wife are eating yet, but I want to get into the habit of healthy eating at home now before creating bad habits.  This benefits all involved and has made me realize I love to cook.  Something I hope to teach the joys of to William as he gets older.

These transitions have also been tough.  I struggle at times after a long day at work to be mentally ready to cook for the family and I miss getting a burger or pizza delivered because of the ease of not having to turn on the oven.  I’m working hard at making dinner more fun with new recipes and flavors so my wife and I don’t get bored with the same things every night.  I’m also looking forward to introducing new foods to William so he doesn’t become a picky eater as he grows up.  I want him to be willing to try new foods and not be limited to what he knows when it comes to flavor.  I want these changes to strengthen our family and help us make better choices that benefit our health and happiness.

 

 

 

 

About jharbottle7

I'm a husband, a father, want-to-be writer, struggling blogger and cyclist. Starting a family has changed my life and made me want to become a better person.
This entry was posted in family, fatherhood, son and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

