Exploring

DSC_0006My son is on the move.  He’s constantly crawling from one spot to another trying to understand the world around him.  He loves being outside and looking at everything. When he’s sitting in his car seat he watches out the window as the city goes by.  He often talks to himself and us in his baby gibberish as if he’s telling a story about what he sees.

DSC_0006I watch him taking everything in and wonder what he thinks about as he watches the world go by.  Is he excited by what he sees or does he fear the world around him?  Is he ready to explore the unknown and question everything so he can learn?  I want to help him with anything I can so he doesn’t grow fearful of the world around him.  I want him to always look at the world DSC_0020as his playground.  I want him to keep that youthful wonderment even as he reaches his teen years and beyond.  Living in awe of what the world has to offer is the best way to learn who you are and how you fit into this crazy place we call earth.

 

 

About jharbottle7

I'm a husband, a father, want-to-be writer, struggling blogger and cyclist. Starting a family has changed my life and made me want to become a better person.
This entry was posted in fatherhood, son and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Exploring

  1. nikhilgeorge37 says:

    Beautiful. 🙂

  2. Jonathan says:

    I could really identify with what you talked about here. My wife and I have an eleven month old son and it’s great to watch him gradually making sense of the world around him.

    • jharbottle7 says:

      I am so often in awe of how my son seems to grasp some of the things he’s trying to figure out. I always want to know what he’s thinking as he experiences things for the first time. I agree, it is great watching as they figure things out.

Leave a Reply

