Where I’m Headed

DSC_0027This little blog of mine started out with the idea of sharing my struggles and joyous moments of becoming and being a dad.  I mean, I named it Serious Dad Issues after all because I feared the issues I was going to struggle with being a father. But as I sit here and ponder what to write, I realize this little speck of the web of mine has become much more for me.  I write about my cycling, my writing and my personal dreams.  I share with you my passions, fears and struggles with everything including what it has meant for me to become a father and how I hope to help my son become the best man he can be.

I also have other blogs I have started and posted on regularly.  One was about the great meal we call brunch.  My wife and I searched out new locations around the city of Chicago to try their brunch offerings and I would share my opinions with the select few who had stumbled upon my blog.  I kept at this for quite some time, that is until my son came along.  Who knew having a child could change so much of your life? (Still working on a sarcasm font).

DSC_0140I also have a website/blog featuring my creative writing.  I have a bachelors in Fiction Writing I’m trying to use so I figured I would start a site for an online portfolio.  I do write on that blog occasionally with things dealing solely with my writing, but often run out of things to post because as of right now my writing career isn’t really taking off.  I know, I need to just keep working at it and I can eventually make something of it.  I am trying, but I still find myself coming back to my dad blog to share what is happening in my life and household rather than either of the aforementioned blogs.

I’m not complaining like I do in many of my other posts on this blog.  On the contrary, I think having this single outlet to share is perfect.  I’ll use my experience from this fine evening as an example.  I met with the wonderful blogger Echo who writes over at Echo in the City and we had a wonderful conversation spanning many different topics. (You definitely need to check her site out).  It was both refreshing and informative talking to her and I feel this could build into a friendship beyond the keyboard.

This is the type of thing I want to use my blog for.  Not to be just another person typing out my thoughts to an online journal nobody really reads, but to meet new people who are interested in many of the same things I am, starting great and informative conversations and being able to learn from others I meet.  I want to create and build communities where people feel welcome to share their thoughts and ideas freely and don’t feel they’ll be judged for what they say.  I want people to be able to work together to help make things better by understanding people from all walks of life.

Yes, I went a little rambly there. (I know rambly isn’t a real word, but I want to use it). Maybe I have some lofty goals and my head is in the clouds, but I would hope we could get past our fears of what others think about our ideas, dreams and desires so we could become stronger as a group because we’re willing to share.

I don’t know.  Like a said at the beginning of this post.  This little blog of mine just started out because I wanted to share my fears and excitement about becoming a dad. Now here I am trying to change the world.  Maybe it’s the late night coffee or the optimism I gained by talking with my new friend Echo, all I know is I want to make a difference in this world and I’m willing to start by putting one word at a time down for others to read.

So, with all this being said, I’m off to try and get some sleep before my little buddy wakes up again.

About jharbottle7

I'm a husband, a father, want-to-be writer, struggling blogger and cyclist. Starting a family has changed my life and made me want to become a better person.
This entry was posted in family, fatherhood, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Where I’m Headed

  1. echo says:

    Awww you’re too kind! I had a great time and am so glad we got together. In such a big city, it can be hard to meet people, especially because it’s easy to remain just another anonymous person in this place. I truly look forward to finding ways to work together and/or vent and/or chat about the world and lofty ideas! Talk to you soon!

Leave a Reply

