Clearing My Mind

DSC_0157The other day I went for a bike ride.  I made my way from the north side of town down to the lake shore trail and wandered along the lake taking photos of the frozen city.  I did this to get out of the house because with this winter being so cold it’s been tough to go out and enjoy the city without four layers of clothes on.  I also went out to try and clear my head.

I’ve been pondering the choices I’ve made with my career as well as education and used this alone time to think about what I want to do moving forward.  Getting out on the bike and pedaling through the streets may seem hectic to some, but to me it’s a great way to relax and feel relieved of my stresses.  Especially when I’m able to cruise along the lake front trail.  I’m able to think about things other than what’s waiting for me in my work emails or in my son’s diaper.  I can take my thoughts, let them ride through the wind with me and look at them from different angles.  The fresh air (as fresh as Chicago air can be) always helps me open my mind and drift.

Navy Pier under snow and ice

Navy Pier under snow and ice

On this particular ride I of course didn’t come to any significant conclusions of what my next move needs to be in life.  I’d be worried if all it took was one bike ride to determine how to live my days, but I did come to a better understanding of where I am as a father, a husband and a person.  Since my ride I have set up a couple appointments with people at a local university to talk over options in furthering my education and I am looking at what I enjoy doing in my free time to see if these hobbies and passions could lead to a job I can enjoy.

These rides will only become more frequent as my son grows older and I continue worrying about him and our family’s future.  Thankfully though, there are plenty of roads and trails in Chicago so I will never run out of places to ride or see.

About jharbottle7

I'm a husband, a father, want-to-be writer, struggling blogger and cyclist. Starting a family has changed my life and made me want to become a better person.
This entry was posted in Cycling, family, fatherhood, Photography, son and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Clearing My Mind

  1. I went through the same thing when my children were small. I did the same thing. I am a literature teacher now with a master’s degree and wouldn’t change a thing. My family benefited so much. It is a HARD road, going to school with a family, but it’s worth it. 🙂

  2. anacruiz10 says:

    Thank you so much for sharing this! It’s really nice to see someone open their mind and introspect about how to move forward in their life for the better! I hope this progress for you well!

  3. echo says:

    Great photos! And bike rides really are such a great time to reflect, aren’t they? What field/degree are you wanting to pursue?

    • jharbottle7 says:

      Thanks. I know that whenever I can get out and ride that many of my worries will just fade away. Plus I love to see the city from the saddle rather than behind a windshield.
      I am planning on looking into either an English Masters or Political Science. Going in to talk to some people next week at NEIU about their programs and hoping to come out with a better idea of what I want to study. I love to write and I follow politics so am thinking of combining those two things.

      • echo says:

        My partner is going to NEIU for political science (BA) right now! Small world 🙂 He really likes NEIU, it’s a great school. Good luck!

  4. Finding the time and energy to clear out minds is always difficult. Turning my mind off work even when I’m writing on my own blog or going out for run, trying to do exactly what you did, is difficult.

    I applaud you for just finding the time to attempt to clear out your mind. Even if just a bike ride didn’t do it.

  5. Pingback: Over Thinking It All | Serious Dad Issues

Leave a Reply

