Where Has The Time Gone

My son't first pic

My son’s first pic

This coming weekend my son will turn 8 months old.  I know it’s cliche, but it feels just like yesterday he was born.  Sure there’s been hundreds of diapers changed and screams heard, but it doesn’t feel more than a couple months since he joined me and my wife on the outside.

I’ve spent so much time with him over his first 8 months yet I feel I’ve missed too many things.

IMG_2033He’s starting to say dada, but not in the way of knowing he’s calling out for me.  He’s mostly saying it because he can.  He’s pushing himself across the floor and trying to get his knees up under himself so he can crawl.  When he can’t make this happen he gets upset and starts crying.  (Sounds like his dad.  Getting upset when the going gets tough).

He’ll sit up if there’s something he wants, but if he’s not interested he’s fine with just laying there on his back or stomach.  I can’t remember the last time he sat still when we placed him on the floor.  Now as soon as we set him down he’s pushing, rolling and sliding his way across the floor.

DSC_0129The bad thing about my son already hitting the 8 month mark is it feels like it’s flown by. The great thing about my son hitting the 8 month mark is it still has only just begun and there’s many more great days, months and years ahead of us to live, play and love.

About jharbottle7

I'm a husband, a father, want-to-be writer, struggling blogger and cyclist. Starting a family has changed my life and made me want to become a better person.
This entry was posted in family, fatherhood, son and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

