First Christmas

If you look close enough you can see the tree behind us

If you look close enough you can see the tree behind us

There we were.  A family of three driving hours on end to see family and friends for the Christmas holiday.  So many people to see and only a few days to do it.  There was party after party and present after present making my little buddy all sleepy and cranky.  This is how my son William’s first Christmas went and what made me realize too much of a good thing is definitely too much.  We enjoyed seeing all those we saw, but after 5 nights in beds other than our own we were glad when it came to an end.

William was able to meet more cousins and will more than likely always have

Grandma with all 12 great grand kids

Grandma with all 12 great grand kids

trouble remembering all their names.  Great grandmas showered him with nothing but love and couldn’t get enough of him.  Grandparents spoiled him with more than enough toys and clothes.  He now has 15 sets of pajamas.  By the time they’re all dirty he’ll be on to the next size and we’ll be left with drawers full of clothes never worn.  The kid doesn’t even realize what’s going on around him and was more excited about the wrapping paper than anything else.

The simple gift from Santa

The simple gift from Santa

Even though we were gone all the way through Christmas day and didn’t get home until late into the evening on the 25th we made sure he opened the gift from us and from Santa.  Two simple gifts was all we got him because we knew ahead of time my mother-in-law was buying him everything she could before she maxed out her credit cards.  I had to make sure I got my son something from the toy store I grew up going to back home and that was the gift from Santa.

Thinking back over those rushed days I realize how much fun I had even though it wasn’t relaxing.  I enjoyed watching my son play with his cousins, open his gifts and take in what it means to be with family.  I haven’t enjoyed the holidays as much as I used to and I think much of it had to do with not sitting back and taking the moments in.

The beginning of the holiday. We're not tired yet.

The beginning of the holiday. We’re not tired yet.

But now with a son I have to slow down because if I don’t I’ll miss so much.  I know the Christmas holiday will always be stressful because that’s what it has become, but I also see the chance for me to get back to the joy of the season by watching my son live through those moments and live in wonderment of everything that comes along with the season.

About jharbottle7

I'm a husband, a father, want-to-be writer, struggling blogger and cyclist. Starting a family has changed my life and made me want to become a better person.
This entry was posted in fatherhood, son, traveling and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to First Christmas

  1. Jonathan says:

    I really enjoyed reading this post as my wife and I have just had our first Christmas as parents. I can really identify with what you said here about it being tiring keeping up with it all. Our 8 month old son seemed to be excited by seeing so many people and it took a good bit longer than usual to get him to sleep.

Leave a Reply

