Holiday Obligations

Thanksgiving with cousins

Thanksgiving with cousins

Many of you have probably noticed the lack of posts on my blog lately.  I haven’t even thought about my blog for the last few weeks because of the usual suspects this time of year.  Thanksgiving took a good portion of my energy and now that Christmas is just over a week away I really haven’t had time to focus on anything other than family, holiday obligations and shopping.  (There is some laziness involved as well).

This lack of time got me thinking about the obligations of the holiday season when it comes to family and why we feel we need to rush all over to make the holidays special.  My wife and I have always made a point to see each of our families over the Christmas holiday.  Visiting and going to multiple gatherings over a span of a few days is exhausting.  This is especially tiring since we live in a different state than our families and our families don’t live near each other.  We get a couple days with one family, bouncing around to see mom and dad, grandmas, aunts and uncles, cousins and siblings but never get any relaxation because when we drive to the other spouses family we do it all over again.  I am exhausted when I get back from my holiday break.

Our first real Christmas tree as a family

Our first real Christmas tree as a family

This year there is the added stress of trying to enjoy our first Christmas with a child.  When it was just my wife and I it wasn’t as difficult to do all that driving but now that we have a son in tow I want him to enjoy Christmas too.  Sure it’s always fun seeing family around the holidays, but I want to start new traditions of staying in my own home on Christmas eve baking cookies for Santa and getting excited for Christmas morning.  I want my son to wake up in his own bed and be able to come out into the living room and see the tree all lit up and presents dropped off by that jolly old man waiting for him.  It’s not that I don’t love our families it’s just now that I have my own I want to have our traditions.

Letting Santa know what he wants for Christmas

Letting Santa know what he wants for Christmas

I’m writing this post because this stuff about starting family traditions of our own has been on my mind since the moment I found out my wife was pregnant.  I want to enjoy my son’s childhood and make memories we can have for years to come that are enjoyable.  I want him to enjoy Christmas the way I did when I was younger.  I don’t enjoy the holiday as much because of the stress of travel and I regret not having the joy I once had.  I know this is only the beginning of stressful moments when it comes to raising my son, but it’s also something important to me with how I want to be as a father.  Don’t get me wrong.  I enjoy spending time with my family, but I also want to enjoy the holidays because we’re doing what we think is fun not because we have to.

About jharbottle7

I'm a husband, a father, want-to-be writer, struggling blogger and cyclist. Starting a family has changed my life and made me want to become a better person.
This entry was posted in fatherhood, son, traveling and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Holiday Obligations

  1. sarah says:

    We too, this year decided to tell the inlaws that we want Christmas as our house. It is hard with three and a small one to make it to everyones place and get naps in and not get stressed. So, we invited them over for dinner, but for the first time we can stay home for Christmas. Thats how it should be, once you have kids you have to make your own family traditions. I agree Jeremy!

Leave a Reply

