Living With a 4 Month Old

He's still trying to figure out how sitting up on his own, but is getting stronger.

He’s still trying to figure out how sitting up on his own, but is getting stronger.

My son turned 4 months old on Oct. 2nd and I am still having a hard time with the fact that I have a son.  When I cradle William in my arms and stare into his face, chatting with him and making sure he knows I love him, I can’t believe the eyes staring back at me are my son’s.  I can’t believe that 4 months ago my wife and I brought this child into the world (my wife did most of the work to get him here and she reminds me all the time) and now are to take care of this little guy.  My wife and I were talking about this and how it still is surprising we have this child, but at the same time we don’t remember what it was like to not have him in our life.

I’m still trying to get used to having a baby to care for.  Still trying to understand what we need to do to make sure he continues growing and learning and that I don’t accidently drop him while getting him into his car seat or Bjorn.  Yet this past weekend at his 4 month checkup the doctor told us to start introducing cereal into his diet.  What?  In my mind this boy is still a newborn but his doctor wants him to start trying cereal?  What’s next, steak and eggs for breakfast with a side of bacon?  (I know, dramatic much?)  It’s just that it feels like it’s going too fast.

IMG_1792I can tell William’s learning so much just by watching my wife and I.  His favorite song right now is the itsy bitsy spider.   (I actually had forgotten half of it until listening to my wife sing it a couple times to refresh my memory).  He stares at the hand gestures as we sing him the song and often will bring his hands together along with us.  There are times I see him doing this on his own in his bouncy chair and making noises that are between yelling and singing.  I want to believe it’s because he’s trying to sing the itsy bitsy spider.

Our dog is one of his favorite things right now.  She tries to ignore him often, but it doesn’t matter to William because he loves watching her every move.  William has also finally noticed we have a cat.  The cat has always kept her distance so it’s no wonder he hasn’t noticed her, but the other day William’s eyes got real big while he was on my wife’s lap and I looked in the direction he was staring and noticed the cat walking through the room and my son’s eyes didn’t leave her until she walked around the corner.

Being the person I am I want to know what he is thinking.  I want to know how he’s taking it in and if he has questions about the things around him.  I want him to know he needs to keep that feeling of wonderment his whole life, to continue trying to learn from what’s around him.  I want to help him understand the world and the objects he’s looking at and to understand there is so much more out there to be understood.  I know in time we’ll be able to talk about the questions he has and I’m sure we’ll both learn from each other when those talks happen, but I also want to make sure I help him grow up to be the best person he can be by giving him the right answers and guidance.

About jharbottle7

I'm a husband, a father, want-to-be writer, struggling blogger and cyclist. Starting a family has changed my life and made me want to become a better person.
This entry was posted in fatherhood, son. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Living With a 4 Month Old

  1. Jonathan says:

    I loved reading this and could relate to a lot of this as my wife and I became parents for the first time in April of this year and have a son who’s doing similar things.

Leave a Reply

