First Father’s Day

1st Father's daySo yesterday was my first Father’s day and I only made it by two weeks.  (I have received Father’s day cards in the past but cards from your pets don’t necessarily count).  We spent the weekend visiting family and friends and enjoyed a brunch at my in-laws that I made.  Even though I had been wanting to stay home and enjoy the day as a new family, being back in Michigan wasn’t bad either.

We also visited our good friends the Sluiters.  Katie and Tonya are old middle school friends (I think it was middle school) and have been through so many good and bad times in life that they act like family more than friends.  It was great visiting Katie and Cortney, along with their two boys, and seeing what we had to look forward to as William grows older.  Looks like nothing but fun to me.

My favorite part of the weekend was when I plopped William in the Bjorn, put the leash on the dog and held my wife’s hand as we walked along the path near my in-laws house on Father’s day.  I love spending time outdoors and look forward to passing that joy down to William.

My mother-in-law bought a fun cake for us to eat and share with my wife’s grandma, cousins, aunt and uncle1st Father's day cake along with the rest of us.  They had been invited over to meet our new little bundle of joy.  All in all it was a great weekend and I’m looking forward to sharing so many more Father’s days with my son and my amazing wife.

About jharbottle7

I'm a husband, a father, want-to-be writer, struggling blogger and cyclist. Starting a family has changed my life and made me want to become a better person.
This entry was posted in fatherhood and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to First Father’s Day

  1. oh hey! we got a shout out! it was GREAT seeing you guys! Fatherhood looks good on you, Jer! And Tonya is one hot momma! Rawr! xxoo

    • jharbottle7 says:

      We can’t wait to hang with you guys more. Especially once William can become part of the fun. (noise)

  2. path4ward says:

    Like the picture! Love the boys in the picture!

Leave a Reply

