Right on Schedule?

Before this past Friday I thought I had a couple more weeks to finish getting ready for the arrival of my son and to get my mind around the fact we were becoming a family of three,  but after our visit to the doctor’s office Friday morning we learned my wife would be induced this coming Saturday, June 1st, a week early.  This is exciting because I get to finally hold my son but scary because I am still not ready.  Sure I’ve had the weekend to get a few more things completed off our checklist, but our apartment is a mess after trying to get everything done and I feel we are still forgetting something that will throw us off our plan.

Thankfully I have a great wife who, throughout this pregnancy, has kept her cool when I start loosing it, made sure to keep our checklist up to date and hasn’t complained at all about hardly anything.  She is the only reason I haven’t lost my mind through this whole thing and the reason I know we’ll be fine on Saturday morning as we head to the hospital for the delivery at 4:30 am.  (Yes you read that right.  Our doctor scheduled our appointment at 4:30 am on a Saturday morning).

Here’s an example of why I think she’s amazing.  She can put up with my sarcastic humor when it comes to things I fear.  For years, even before we were sure we’d have children, I would reference Bill Cosby’s stand up bit about child-birth. (If you don’t know what I’m referencing check it out here on youtube).  I would start by reminding her I had already learned breathing techniques and when it was time to push I would be ready for that as well.  She never found this to be funny.  Every time I would start to mention Bill Cosby she would turn to me and remind me that if I even tried that stunt in the delivery room I would be kicked out.  I’m still debating on if this would be a bad thing because I know I’ll be a nervous wreck when the baby starts coming and my wife is in pain.  To be honest, I’m not sure if I can keep myself from doing this bit because whenever I get scared or nervous I do stupid things and it’s going to take all my concentration not to do something stupid as I struggle to keep my calm during our child’s birth.

I am ready for this though.  I’m ready to hold him, cradle him in my arms and be able to look into his cute little face. (I hope he’s cute but you never know until they get here).  I’m ready to share my love with a child I helped create and to watch our child enjoy life.  I’m ready to teach him, help him explore and witness him beginning to understand as he learns through his experiences.  I’m ready to be a father to a child who  needs guidance and a helping hand when he’s been knocked down.  I’m ready to give him the love he deserves and to help him back onto his feet after he falls.  I’m ready to start the family I have always dreamed of starting with my wonderful wife and I’m excited to know we get to start it sooner than I thought we would.

About jharbottle7

I'm a husband, a father, want-to-be writer, struggling blogger and cyclist. Starting a family has changed my life and made me want to become a better person.
This entry was posted in baby, fatherhood, son and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

