Childhood Fun

I’ve been biking all winter.  Through snow storms and rain, I haven’t stopped.  It’s been rough at times when the slush pulls my tires every which way but the way I want to go and when the cars forget they need to share the road, but I don’t plan on giving it up.  Riding again has awakened my joy of biking and brought back my memories of all the times I spent over the handle bars making the streets of the small town I grew up in my own race track.

Spring is trying to break through the grasp of winter and there have been flashes of warming weather.  I am My bike Chuckready for the sunshine and warmer temps so I can get on the saddle of my road bike.  I miss slipping on my cycling shorts and shoes, hitting the open road and lake shore trail.  Chicago is such a great city for doing outdoor activities.

I’ve already tried getting out once and made it a short trip due to the cold temps and wind.  I plan on hitting the roads this week even if the temperature doesn’t get above 35 because I need to get as much use out of my bike as I can before my life changes with the birth of my son.  I know I can continue and hopefully will, but I also know my priorities will change and getting out to enjoy a long ride won’t always happen.  So snow or no snow, I am hitting the pavement tomorrow morning before heading to work.

About jharbottle7

I'm a husband, a father, want-to-be writer, struggling blogger and cyclist. Starting a family has changed my life and made me want to become a better person.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

